Independence and Serendipity in 2013

Well, I suppose I can’t let my international new year celebration pass by without a nod.

It was a lot of fun. I met a lot of people, and found myself in a lot of new environments. Midnight itself, I spent alone in a sea of people, to which a thickly accented Australian retorted, “Then that’s how you’ll spend your year, strong and independent!”

I would be remiss if I did not mention the bit of serendipity I was blessed with. Amongst the hustle and bustle of hundreds of people, I turned to introduced myself to the nearest stranger. Upon hearing my hometown in Alaska, he asked me if I happened to know..my best friend! What?! Of all the countries, cities, bars, and all the people I could have talked to, the universe connected me with a familiar face far from home. It was a New Years gift!

Cheers and happy new year to all you out there! It was a strange and magical night here In Chiang Mai.

What's on your mind?

